What is the equivalency of ICM qualifications?

ICM courses can provide students with access to a number of levels of a degree programme – view ICM’s Qualifications Equivalency Table to find out more.
Every year, ICM graduates gain entry into universities in North America, the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Western Europe, the Far East, South East Asia and Australasia. For those wishing to study in the UK there are more than 100 different institutions to which they can apply. For the student, the choice of institution and the preferred country of study is wide and varied.

When will I receive my results?

It can take up to 12 weeks to mark, moderate and process your answer scripts from the date they are received by ICM.

What level is my qualification?

The UK National Qualifications Framework (NQF consists of 9 levels (Including “Entry” level, level 1, 2, up to level 9)
ICM qualifications are generally levelled as follows:-
– ICM Certificate = NQF level 4
– ICM Diploma = NQF level 5
– ICM Advanced Diploma = NQF level 6
– ICM Graduate Diploma = NQF level 6
– ICM Postgraduate Diploma = NQF level 7
In most cases, the NQF levels correspond to the European Qualification Framework (EQF) levels. Other national bodies have defined different levels, eg the Irish (NFQ)and Scottish (SCQF) frameworks are different and you should refer direct to their website for further details.

Who recognises ICM Awards?

ICM enjoys global brand recognition based on consistently high examination standards. The Awards are recognised and accepted by universities and employers around the world.

How long has ICM been operating?

The Institute of Commercial Management was founded by Dr Alistair Somerville Ford in 1979. For more than 30 years it has offered practical and progressive programmes of study coupled with unique membership opportunities to both students and business professionals.

Can I claim any subject exemptions?

It is possible, if you hold any recognised Award from another recognised Professional or Examining Board. Subject exemptions are granted on a subject-for-subject basis.

Please note that exemptions may not be applied for on Single Subject examinations, or from subjects which have already been undertaken on an examinations basis with ICM. If students consider themselves eligible for exemptions, all the appropriate supporting documentary evidence including the syllabi and certified copies of your certificates must be forwarded to ICM for presentation to the Exemptions Committee. Any exemptions which may be granted will be subject to students first registering as a Professional student and undertaking the remaining subjects of the course on an examination basis.

The Exemptions Committee would require the following documentation before processing an application from you:

  • An ICM Exemption Form – available from your ICM Approved Centre
  • The Exemption Form is located on the reverse of the Examination Entry Form for the relevant course
  • Certified copies of certificates
  • A copy of syllabi for the Award you hold
  • Full name and postal address
  • Name & address of the ICM Approved Centre at which you are studying

Upon receipt of your exemption application, your request would be assessed. As soon as the Exemptions Committee have made a decision, you will be advised in writing. You should always enclose a covering letter with your documentation and ensure that you have provided us with your current postal address.

Can I get my exam results online?

ICM does not post students’ exam results online. It can take up to 12 weeks to mark, moderate and process your answer scripts from the date they are received by ICM.
Your result documentation will be sent to your ICM Approved Centre for your collection.

Can I defer my examination to another exam series? / Deferrals?

There is a fee per subject should you wish to defer your examinations to another series. If you are unable to undertake your examinations, it is essential you advise ICM before the appropriate examination date, otherwise the full standard entry fee (or appropriate fee relating to the level of the course you are studying) will be applicable. Should you be deferring through ill health, you will need to attach a copy of your medical certificate to the new entry form. Please note you may only defer examinations on one occasion and thereafter you will need to pay the full entry fee relating to the course for which you are entered. (Please refer to our Fees page for the current deferral fees.)

Examination grades

Grade A – Distinction 70% and above
Grade B – Credit 60% to 69%
Grade C – Pass 50% to 59%
Grade D – Marginal Pass 40% to 49%
Grade F – Fail 39% and under

Should students re-sit any examination to improve their previous grade, please be advised that the latest grade obtained will stand.